Zen Practice

In 2013, I started going to Zen sessions, which is all about sitting and praying in silence. My first sesshin (meditation session) took place in Baguio, Philippines.

I knew that meditations will help me quiet my mind and get a better grasp of my thoughts, and it did.

As an added bonus, I met people who were similar to me – Dr. Rudy, Louie and Sars. They all found Zen during the most difficult periods in their life and so did I. What I’m most grateful for is the fact that life gave me these people – people who shared similar fates as mine. More importantly, they welcomed me as if I were their own. And at the time, I needed that sense of family as I was already on my own – given my parents already passed away and my brother is in the US.

Because of that moment, I now truly believe that God always sends me the right people at the right time at the right place.

To get through from our life struggles, the one practice that helped me is the basic act of breathing. As we breathe, we breathe in life – we connect to God. And this is what Zen is all about.

Since then, everyday, for a couple of months, I sat in silence (knowing fully that I’m always connected to God) for about 20-30 minutes upon waking up in the morning.

Leave a Reply

